You are here:



Wharangi Ruamano Māori Nurse Educators

Ngā Whaīnga/ Objectives

 1.   To support and develop the role of Kaiako/Māori Nurse Educators, through Tuakana Teina, Kawa Whakaruruhau.

 2.   To encourage and promote a culturally safe work environment for Kaiako and tauira/students in the nursing education tertiary sector

3.   Provide Kaiako and Kaiawhina (Māori student support) with a forum for professional development

4.   Monitor and contribute to the ongoing development of Hauora Māori and Kawa Whakaruruhau – Māori health papers being delivered through nursing education tertiary sector.

5.   Foster relationships with stakeholders in tertiary education and the health and disability sectors.

Ngā Mema/ Membership

Wharangi Ruamano members are Māori nurse educators that represent their school of nursing in the tertiary sector. Membership can include Māori nurse educators in practice settings.

Hui a Tau /Annual General Meeting

In each year an Annual General Meeting will be held mid-year in line with the NETS meeting schedule.

The meeting shall:

  • Elect a National Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer every 2 years.
  • Endorse the operational plan.
  • Receive the audited annual accounts at the end of the financial year June 30th.
  • Conduct such other business as the members decide.

Nga Whakahaere/ Executive

National Wharangi Ruamano Chair is a member of the National Education in the Tertiary Sector (NETS) Executive team. This role includes attending the tri-annual NETS meetings.  Wharangi Ruamano Executive consists of National Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Treasurer;

  • Take a governance role in accordance with Wharangi Ruamano Constitution, Operational Plan and Terms of Reference.
  • Liaise with appropriate organisations and people.
  • Organise the Annual General Meeting and circulate an agenda at least ten (10) days prior to the meeting.
  • Organise meetings as required.

Mana o Te Rauemi/ Ownership of material

  • Wharangi Ruamano reserve the copyright on all material funded and/or written on behalf of Wharangi Ruamano


  • Each institution or member group shall be limited to one vote.
  • On matters where there is a vote taken the majority constitutes two thirds of the membership.
  • Proxy votes will be accepted if provided in writing and dated. 


Back to top ^